You’ve Got Mail- Movie Review

MV5BMTg0ODM2NDc5MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODM2Mzk5MDE@._V1_SX214_You’ve Got Mail

Add to IMDB

Buy from Flipkart.com

Buy From Amazon

 

I know this movie has been there for a long time. But I did say somewhere that I’m a very late bloomer when it comes to movies, didn’t I?

Anyway, I’m so glad that I selected this movie. First of all, falling in love over letters is my most favorite trope, be it E-mail, messaging, or the good old letters. I love the stories which portray this. This movie not only gives me the story, but it also serves me the perfect chemistry and excellent acting. It helps that I didn’t have any preconceived notion about both Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks (late bloomer, remember?)

The story is about two business rivals falling in love over E-mails. Meg as Kathleen Kelley is the owner of a supercute children bookstore which is being usurped by new book mall owned by Joe Fox(Tom Hanks). They meet in a chatroom and fell for each other without revealing their identities.  Though it is predictable what’s going to happen next, the presentation of the movie made me smile and cry(that twirling scene!). I adored the mails they wrote and how they opened up to each other via words, but more than that, I enjoyed the part when Tom Hanks tried to win her heart was Joe Fox.

After watching the movie, I want to open my own little bookshop. No, no, nothing like giant Fox Books, but the little shop like “Around the Corner”. I know the ending is a bit unbelievable (okay completely unbelievable), but I was a romantic before donning this cynical hat. So while the cynic in me wanted to scoff at their meeting, my heart was cheering them on.

There were many captivating dialogues, but my favorite was the one which defines the dilemma of many readers.

Sometimes I wonder about my life. I lead a small life – well, valuable, but small – and sometimes I wonder, do I do it because I like it, or because I haven’t been brave? So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around? I don’t really want an answer. I just want to send this cosmic question out into the void. So good night, dear void.

All in all, a sweet love story!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul S
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 18:30:14

    Lovely review of one of the best romantic films ever.
    Meg Ryan is a revelation in You’ve Go Mail and each time I watch it I discover some new aspect of the character. Kathleen Kelly is erudite, down to earth and has a wicked sense of humour. A lethal combination.

    Reply

  2. heath109109
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 14:29:06

    Currently my favourite movie! Like your last contributor ; Paul, I have watched it a few times and pick up new insights just by following the gaze of Meg Ryan’s eyes.
    Tom Hanks plays a credible, kind guy , and has gone on to great heights in other projects, with his intense, yet wholesome characterisation.
    The film is quite old, I remember that song by the ‘Cranberries’ which I was into as a student (I’m 40 something now!!) Heather

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Feb 04, 2014 @ 14:33:24

      Yes, the film is quite old. I did not start watching English movies until recently. I do not have much of free time, and whatever time I have got is usually devoted to Hindi movies, As such, I’m quite far behind on Hollywood movies. Hence the pledge to watch at least one non-Hindi movie a week. So I’m pretty sure I’ll be visiting a lot of old movies.

      Reply

  3. heath109109
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 13:26:45

    I presume you live in India? Thanks for your last reply. If you want to sample an old English romantic film try ‘Brief Encounter’ Like ‘you got Mail’, I can watch that lovely film 3 times a year and pick new quirks, sentiments and insights.

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Feb 05, 2014 @ 13:46:33

      Yes, I live in India. 🙂

      Brief Encounter and Casablanca were the first movies I watched when I started this one movie a week journey in December followed by the three movies of Before Sunrise series.

      All five of them were indeed beautiful, Brief Encounter being the best of them. Do give some more suggestions. Otherwise I will flail cluelessly in this ocean. 😛

      Reply

      • Paul S
        Feb 05, 2014 @ 16:10:54

        If you enjoyed Tom and Meg in You’ve Got Mail why don’t you give Sleepless in Seattle a try?
        One Fine Day which features George Clooney and Michelle Pfeiffer is another nice romantic movie from the 90s.

      • parichitasingh
        Feb 05, 2014 @ 16:30:54

        Alright, I’ll check them soon. And will tell you once I have watched them. Thanks a lot.

      • heath109109
        Feb 06, 2014 @ 07:08:16

        Hi , you might try ‘Sunset Boulevard’ its about an ageing Hollywood film actress who lives as a recluse because her career went into decline due to the success of ‘speaking ‘ films. However, she has a kind of ‘career face lift’ (which goes horribly wrong) when a young, handsome script writer turns up at her ‘fortress’ unexpectedly! (don’t tell me you’ve seen it already right!)

      • parichitasingh
        Feb 06, 2014 @ 10:20:23

        Ha ha. Thanks for the suggestion. No, I haven’t seen it but it does sound an interesting premise. I’ll see if I can get it by Sat/Sun which are my designated movies days. 😀

      • heath109109
        Feb 06, 2014 @ 13:59:37

        Good luck with that. Movies are a great escape for me.I love the high drama of other peoples lives. It’s only in the last couple of years I’ve got into films. I’m a bit ‘old skool ‘so I like the older stuff such as we have mentioned. That said , if a box office success has a good review and I like the appeal of the actors/story line, then I will look out for it on DVD. I’ve got too many DVD’s maybe I can subscribe to an on line film club ,..is that what you do?
        Happy viewing anyway

      • parichitasingh
        Feb 06, 2014 @ 16:48:24

        I am a Bigflix subscriber. Recent movies are available there. Rest I order from Flipkart or Amazon. Sometime later, I will also have too many DVDs like you. 🙂

      • heath109109
        Feb 07, 2014 @ 14:28:16

        Thanks I’ll have a browse on line. Happy viewing!

  4. secretivewriter
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 21:05:18

    Reblogged this on Secretive Writer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

