Top Ten Tuesday – Books that will make you cry

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at Broke and Bookish. This will be my first participation in any activity. Today’s theme is the books that will make you cry. There are MANY. I cry and laugh at the drop of hat (at the turn of a page!). The below mentioned list is not an exhaustive list, but the books which comes into my mind without referring Google. Since they stayed in my mind for so long, I’m pretty sure that they’ll influence you too.

1) Black Beauty– My first novel and something which taught me that words have the power to move. I was eight years old when I got this book as a prize in school, and it can still make me cry.

2) Gone With The Wind – As the end rolled in with Scarlet saying “Tomorrow is another day”, I cried buckets. I decided not to read any book for a whole month because I wanted to mourn for her.

3) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – The initial books were fun, but as the books kept getting darker, my reaction started getting deeper. I cried in many scenes in this book, but I cried the most when Dobby and Snape died.

4) Me before You– This has been a recent read. And there’s a reason it’s called Me before you.

5) The Sea of Tranquility– This was the most difficult read for me as I felt the characters very deeply.The heroine’s silence and words later made me misty-eyes over every page.

6) Delicious – This book is a historical romance, something which is made to feel a person happy. It does dishes out the happiness but after churning the emotions of the reader.

7) Flowers from the Storm– This books is not well-favored by many. But it took me on a journey with the hero, Christian. I found the concepts of Maddy confusing but relatable, and the helplessness of hero got to me.

8) The Fault In Our Stars – I need to stop reading books with such ending. It’s not good for my eyes.

9) Lord of The Rings(whole series)– So many good people lost. Despite its old world language, it is a very moving journey.

10) The Time Traveler’s Wife– It didn’t leave me sobbing, but it left me with the feeling to have to brave my tears.

I sometime feel that I cry more while reading than while living. What are the books that made you cry?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AJ Fairchild
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 23:30:04

    Great picks! We have several in common. I really need to read TFIOS, but I am not sure I want to put my emotions through all that. Here’s mine if you want to stop by

    Reply

  2. Reviews from a Bookworm
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 00:20:33

    Great picks. The Time Traveller’s Wife made my list too, such an emotional and beautiful book. I also picked Deathly Hallows, I pretty much cry from beginning to end. My TTT πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 03:11:24

    I had never heard of Me Before You before today, but it’s been on several lists – now I definitely want to read it!!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Reply

  4. Bregje
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 14:11:23

    The last Harry Potter books made me cry too! Probably the most when Dumbledore died, but also when Snape and Dobby died.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

