Musing Mondays(Feb 10,2014)

Musing Monday is a weekly meme from Mizb of ShouldBeReading. It asks us to talk about what books that are going to be read or any bookish rant. And anything that asks me to rant is perfect for me. 😛

Last week had been a romance special week. No, I know it usually is romance week, but last week I drowned myself in historicals. I read Lorraine Heath’s London’s Greatest Lover series. Add to it one historical by Elizabeth Hoyt called Duke of Shadows. Since it’s almost the valentine week, romance should be allowed, right?

So, my book rant today is about the book series, especially the never-ending series which goes to 12,13, or sometimes even to 39 books.  I’ve read too many such series. And I’m not the only one. These series are quite popular. Take for example Psy-Changeling series by Nalini singh, In Death series by J.D. Robb, or Dark Hunter Series by Sherrilyn Kenyon. The author starts with a beautiful world with a very strong set of characters which intrigue the reader and keep them hooked to the next book. But then as the series progress, all the stories start sounding similar. The complex characters, the female leads, the complications–all become too predictable. It’s something like a series burn-out.

The similar thing happen with me while watching the seasons of TV dramas as well. Everything mixes together and starts looking the same. Then, I’ve to take a long break from the whole genre to replenish myself with that excitement to read again.

I was struck by this thought while I was reading a negative review of Cress on GoodReads. The reviewer said that while the first book was good, second was passable, and third was pathetic, which seems to be the case with many of the series.

Does this happen with you too? Are you also stuck with series-ennui? If yes, how do you cure it?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jo @ Mixed Book Bag
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 16:15:56

    I have found it to be the same. Even some of the highly rated books and shows just get stale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

