Top Ten Tuesday- Why I Love Being A Reader

Top Ten Tuesday is the weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Topic for today is Top Ten Reasons I Love Being a Reader. Anybody reading this will probably already know the joys of reading. Books might constitute the words and pages, but both of them together are not sufficient to express the reason why they win over my heart. I am going to borrow the quotes from some known and some unknown authors to express these reasons.

1) Books make me happy, they help me escape from reality.” ― Félix J. Palma, The Map of the Sky

I think this is simply the first and foremost reason. Nothing makes me happier than a good book.

2) “A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one.”  ― George R.R. Martin, A Dance with Dragons

I have been a queen, a madwoman, a child, a lover, a vampire, a mermaid, a centaur, a unicorn, a horse, a witch, all by reading. Can there be any other way to live such a life?

3) “I prefer the company of books. When I’m reading, I’m never alone, I have a conversation with the book. It can be very intimate. Perhaps you know this feeling yourself? The sense that you’re having an intellectual exchange with the author, following his or her train thought and you accompany each other for weeks on end.” ― Sophie Divry, Signatura 400

Sometimes even best of the friends cannot fill the void which can be filled by the book that resonates.

4) “In this way, I was able to place my own concerns aside and curl myself up in the cocoon of somebody else’s imagination. My life was suspended – I was in neither one place nor the other.” ― Kate Kerrigan, Ellis Island

Of course, a respite from all the pressing concerns!

5) “She read novels. One book after another, sometimes at the rate of one a day, for a solid year. An acceptable form of escape that didn’t leave a hangover.” ― Wendy Wax, The Accidental Bestseller

In my opinion, books are way much better than drugs, alcohol or smoking, or some other form of escape.

6) “Reading makes immigrants of us all. It takes us away from home, but, most important, it finds homes for us everywhere.” ― Hazel Rochman

I’ve never been outside India, but I’ve traveled almost everywhere in the world because of the books.

7) “Reading is important, because if you can read, you can learn anything about everything and everything about anything.” ― Tomie dePaola

Same goes with the learning. I didn’t know anything about carpentry, or medicines before reading the books.

8) “Only because books are better than people, Father. … Because they are masters who instruct without a rod. If you approach them, they are never asleep; if you are ignorant, they never laugh; if you make mistakes, they never chide. They give to all who ask of them, and never demand payment. … All the glory of the world would be buried in oblivion, if God hadn’t provided us with the remedy of books.”  ― Catherine Jinks – Pagan’s Scribe

I don’t completely discard the importance of the people in my life, but at least the books are what they are. They don’t ask questions. They don’t even punish us for leaving them. The most forgiving friends!

9) “…a novel, like a myth or any great work of art, can become an initiation that helps us to make a painful rite of passage from one phase of life, one state of mind, to another. A novel, like a myth, teaches us to see the world differently; it shows us how to look into our own hearts and to see our world from a perspective that goes beyond our own self-interest.” ― Karen Armstrong, Canongate Myth Series: A Short History of Myth / The Penelopiad / Weight / Dream Angus

Sometimes, there are things we forget to notice while living. Books bring those thoughts to out notice and makes us think about them.

10) “The stories she’d read of others’ lives over these last few months had left her with a greater appreciation for the thread of her own life.” ― Masha Hamilton, The Camel Bookmobile

They make me feel how blessed I’m to have so much in my life. The things which seemed too little a while ago turns into abundance just after reading a scene.

 

Leave a Reply

