Top Ten Tuesday- Authors I Have Never Read Before

Top Ten Tuesday is the weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Topic for today is Top Ten Authors I Have Never Read Before.  I read a lot, but still there are books and authors which I am yet to try, some of them very famous. The reason for not trying them varies from lack of time to lack of interest to the fear of not comprehending the story.

1) Ray Bradbury – This is an author which comes under “didn’t get an opportunity” category. He’s well-known; I’m almost ninety percent sure that I’ll adore his books, but still I haven’t read any of his book. I do follow his advice to write a short story every week. Soon, he won’t be there in this list, but in the list of my favorites. 

2) Haruki Murakami – I haven’t read him for two reasons. First, I came to know about him around an year ago. Secondly, I am actually afraid of his brand of literary fiction. I’m afraid that I won’t understand a word of it, but the snippets and the quotes that I read from his book definitely intrigues me.

3) Veronica Roth– No reasons, except I never got a chance to read her. Soon, very soon, she won’t be on this list.

4) Frank Kafka– Too daunting, too old, too classic for me to try. These things always put me off.

5) Cassandra Clare – I don’t know why I haven’t tried her. She has been on my reading list like forever.

6) Toni Morrison– I have Beloved in my shelf for more than a year, but I always keep on postponing it.

7) Amish Tripathi– He’s a very famous Indian author, but I’m yet to read him. I have got all the three books of his trilogy though. Soon, very soon.

8) Liane Moriarty– She made a big wave with Her Husband’s Secret. Now I just need to find time to order the book and read it.

9) Danielle Steel– Never got an opportunity to read her, neither is she on my shelf. Maybe I’ll add her just to see how she writes.

10) V.C. Andrews– I don’t enjoy horror too much, but somebody very recently told me that I didn’t understand her writing style because I haven’t read V.C.Andrews. So, I researched and came across her work. I didn’t even know that she was that famous. So now she’s in my Reading list.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lissiet
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 05:48:08

    Great list! I love Veronica Roth, so excited for the Divergent movie!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    Reply

  2. scrbwly
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 13:01:41

    too bad you don’t like kafka. he’s one of my favorites. besides, if you ever think of smoking weed or something, don’t; just read kafka 😉

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Mar 06, 2014 @ 14:29:55

      More than dislike, it’s the perception of that literature which puts me off. It’s more of the fear that the books will turn out to be too much for my understanding. An unfounded fear, I know, but it is there.

      I know many other readers/writers who swear by Kafka. I just haven’t found the courage to try.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

