A= Anne of Green Gables= Romance with Imagination

The first interesting thing I noted while coming up with books from A to Z was that two of my utter favorites start from A and Z. So, I bring to you my first favorite- Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery.

The beauty of this book can be gauged by the fact that despite being a century old, this book still breathes on the shelves of the readers. Although it is known mainly as a children’s book,  I read this book in my twenties and was enamored by the wisdom contained in its pages.

A= Anne of Green Gables

A= Anne of Green Gables

Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert are two siblings who want to adopt a boy to help them in their farm. But by mistake Anne comes into their life. Anne is a spirited eleven year old orphan who likes to find her happiness in her imagination. The book is the story of how she changes the lives of Marilla and Matthew.

The reason why I love this book is because I have a bit of  Anne  in me. There were times I felt I was seeing an exaggerated version of myself in book.

I’m a person with overactive imagination. I used to make friends with flowers and trees (still do it sometimes); I adopted a different name when I was a kid, and had a huge reactions to small things like people (like Gilbert :P)  teasing me.  I talk A LOT with lots of big words (because if you have big ideas, you have to use big words to express them, haven’t you?), have the affinity towards kindred spirit, and have that wisdom of a dreamer .  If I say in Anne’s words

“There’s such a lot of different Annes in me. I sometimes think that is why I’m such a troublesome person. If I was just the one Anne it would be ever so much more comfortable, but then it wouldn’t be half so interesting.”

Falling in love with Anne in this book was not difficult at all; falling in love with Marilla and Matthew was equally a pleasure, and Gilbert, let us say I felt “Aww” every time his conversational attempt were thwarted by Anne.

This is not only a book, but a lesson on how people should treat life . One of the quotes from this book hangs on my workstation to remind me that there’s something beyond every bend of life.

“When I left Queen’s my future seemed to stretch out before me like a straight road. I thought I could see along it for many a milestone. Now there is a bend in it. I don’t know what lies around the bend, but I’m going to believe that the best does.”

People say that this book doesn’t appeal to adults. I never believed that because it’s a story of adults as well as children; it’s a story which paints the insecurities of childhood as well as how a child can change the person’s perspective. It’s a book about how to love your life and the world around you!

 

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 07:13:42

    LOL I’ve never read this but it sounds good!

    Reply

  2. Prem Rao
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 08:28:51

    Interesting that you mention the take aways from this book as you do. What strikes me is how stories influence the thoughts and actions of readers. Yes, life is full of twists and turns but we need to face them with equanimity.

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 01, 2014 @ 10:10:13

      You’re right. I feel a book is the conversation between writer’s persuasion and reader’s previous conviction. Hence every reader takes different things from the books.

      Reply

  3. Sydney Aaliyah Michelle
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 08:59:24

    I try to read a few classics per year and it makes me understand why they are considered classics. I’ll add this one to my to read list.
    Sydney Aaliyah Michelle
    2014 A to Z Challenge
    Nicole’s #atozchallenge Mighty Minion

    Reply

  4. amandasnoseinabook
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 17:22:37

    I’m stopping by from the A-Z challenge!
    I remember reading Anne of Green Gables when I was youger. I loved that book, however I don’t remember much, so I should probably pick it up again.

    Reply

  5. Carolyn Brown
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 17:44:10

    What a classic to start with! Best wishes for the challenge!

    http://servicefromheart.blogspot.com.au/

    Reply

  6. Nats
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 20:54:52

    You have refreshed my memory. I had read this book in high school as well as its sequels. And I remember enjoying them thoroughly.

    Reply

  7. Inge H. Borg
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 22:44:36

    Hello, Parichita – here is to hoping we can get acquainted.
    Anne’s irascible character is just wonderful; loved the TV series too. For once, it was well done and encearing.

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 02, 2014 @ 09:12:47

      I haven’t watched the TV series, although it’s in my to be watched list. Somehow, I am afraid that watching it will spoil the book for me, and hence the constant procrastination.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  8. Stepheny Houghtlin
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 02:02:15

    Visiting on the 1st day of the #challenge. I realize I have never read Anne…..I like the reader/book blog you have created. I’ll be back. Hope you find all kinds of new blogging friends this month. If gardening is of any interest, if you have time, come and see me. Have fun.

    Reply

  9. J Lenni Dorner (@JLenniDorner)
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 11:18:38

    Stopping by from the #atozchallenge !
    @JLenniDorner

    I great review.
    It is a really good book. I recall reading it in eighth or ninth grade.

    Reply

  10. Dawn M. Hamsher
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 03:09:26

    Oh, Anne (with an “e”) of Green Gables….Love, love, love it! Great way to start the challenge!

    Reply

  11. zenkatwrites
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 03:33:05

    On my all-time top ten is this series. Shockingly, I have read and/or listened to it many times in my life! Anne with an e is a good friend. Stopping by on a-to-z

    Reply

  12. spookymrsgreen
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 15:41:49

    This is one of my all-time favourite books! I have it waiting on my daughters’ bookcase so they can enjoy it when they are a bit older. See you around on the #AtoZChallenge

    Reply

Leave a Reply

