B= Bridgertons Series by Julia Quinn

For B letter, I’d like to introduce to Bridgertons by Julia Quinn

The-Bridgertons-bridgerton-family-31831556-500-250

No, I am not cheating. Even though this series involves eight books which can stand alone, I like to think of it as a mammoth book with all the Bridgertons siblings playing on the pages.

I came across these books when the life was a bit hard and smiles were bit scarce. The series, with all its Dukes and Duchesses, Lords and Ladies, took me in its thrall and provided me with an alternate world to live in. This was my first historical series, and it stayed with me since then. It made me fall in  love with historical romances– the ballrooms, the love stories set in limited freedom of women, the GOWNS (sigh!).

They are based on the family of Bridgertons which involves eight siblings– with their names from A to H–and their mother. Each book is a story of one sibling and his or her search for the perfect mate.

The books is filled with romance, of course, but along with those it has those laugh-out-loud moments. Julia Quinn wins hearts with her clever dialogue and poignant family moment. The books individually are interesting, but when the life of the first book’s character is show in the sixth or seventh book, I feel the connection with them.

And the books have a cheeky reporter in Whistledown Society paper which was the highlight of the books for me. Whenever a chapter or a party finished, I wished to see what Lady Whistledown will bring next.

Men are sheep. Where one goes, the rest will soon follow.

Who else could impart such a wisdom in two lines other than Lady Whistledown! 😛

My idea of the perfect weekend: me sprawled in comfy chair with one of the Bridgertons books in my hand and rest around me!

 

P.S. Check out the cover of the books. They are the cutest cover I’ve seen.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laitie
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 16:22:15

    Hmm, these sound interesting. I’ll have to give them a try! Thanks for introducing them to me!

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 02, 2014 @ 16:23:53

      Just a word of caution. Don’t read them in public places. People might start asking you what happened if you are laughing out loud. 😛

      Do tell me how you found them.

      Reply

  2. amandasnoseinabook
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 17:30:13

    I have never heard of these books, but I will have to see if I can find them in the library or for my e-reader. 🙂

    Reply

  3. lexacain
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 04:16:00

    The figures remind me of Jane Austen, and I loved the quote from Lady Whistledown!
    (new follower)
    Lexa Cain’s Blog

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 03, 2014 @ 10:14:07

      Hey. Yes, the figures are from Austen Era. The books are mostly set in 1800s. The similarities are there but not much. These are much more passionate than Austen’s books.

      Reply

  4. Sonia Lal
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 04:51:36

    I have read some books by her, but I can’t remember if it was this series.

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 03, 2014 @ 10:12:55

      If you have heard the name Bridgertons, then it was definitely this series. The other books don’t have similar characters. And if you haven’t do try the series once.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

