C= Christine by Stephen King

For C I have selected the book which left scariest impact on me. Christine is the book I read two years ago. Till then, I had heard a lot about Stephen King, but never actually read him. Honestly speaking, I only knew that he’s a good writer; I wasn’t even aware about the genre he wrote in. I found this book lying in the corner of a library and decided to give it a try just because it was Stephen King’s book, without even reading a blurb.

Christine is a story of Arnie who falls in love with a car. It’s the story of the possession by car. The first page of the book intrigued me. I first thought that Dennis, Arnie’s friend from whose POV the book is told,  was talking about a female, but then the next few pages brought me to Christine, the car. I read first few pages expecting a cute car make-over story, but not the horror of Christine. By the time I realized that the cute car is actually a monster car, I was absorbed into the story.

I am not a person made for horror. Horror really horrifies me, gives me nightmares, leaves me in cold sweat, and this book was the same. I couldn’t sleep for one week because I was afraid of the sound of the pigeons in my balcony (Those pigeons have been there forever!). I couldn’t close my eyes because Christine haunted my dreams, and I couldn’t open my eyes because I was afraid that I’d see something which I should not see. Weird logic, I know, but then psychology is a weird thing.

I was like an image captured in the mirror, the only difference being my prison was the book. I hated being afraid, but I had to finish the book for peace of my mind. So for one week I did nothing else. I slept with my radio blaring so that the external noise couldn’t remind me of the engine of Christine. I talked to people till wee hours of morning for the fear of Christine. Every number in my contact list was used; a few were overused. I didn’t tell them why I was calling, but just their voice on the other end helped me grip the reality.

After I finished it, I Googled about it and realized it was one of the worst novel by Stephen King. I–I really don’t know if it was bad or good, but I know that its trance is not yet broken. I still dream of it sometimes. I have five other books of Stephen King in my almirah, but I don’t have courage to touch them. Maybe someday, I’ll be able to read him again.

I know that my fear is irrational; I also understand that reading it again might free me from the horror of the book but even if somebody offer me a million dollar to read Christine again, my answer will be a firm no.  In the beginning I told you that I want to share the books which influenced me or scarred me. This was the book which scarred me. Thank the goodness that it didn’t make me fear my own car.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditisaha26
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 20:46:40

    Ahh, King, the one author I hate without reading. I liked Cujo, I just cannot get into his writing style. Am more inclined towards the invisible poweress of the supernatural. like Poe, or Lovercraft or even Machen

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 03, 2014 @ 20:54:06

      There’s a very thin line between love and hate. Read him and then hate him. 😛

      Like I do, although I don’t have anything against him, just the horror is too much for me to digest.

      With Poe, my experience is limited to short stories and poems. H.P. Lovecraft is a recent discovery for me. I have read two short stories, and both made me shudder.

      Reply

      • aditisaha26
        Apr 03, 2014 @ 20:56:10

        Poe has not written any full novels, he did start a novel but, did not finish it I think :p
        Poe is beautiful when he writes. I love “Tell Tale Heart”

  2. The Fool
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 20:49:02

    Interesting experience. I have read a few Stephen King books but not the core horror ones. You will be surprise at the book that last scared me (it was ages back though) – Alice in Wonderland. Check out my post to know why.
    http://www.karthikl.com/2014/03/alice-in-wonderland-series.html

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 03, 2014 @ 22:17:24

      You had a wise reaction to Alice in Wonderland.

      I was quite young when I read Alice in Wonderland. My first reaction was confusion which I justified by telling myself: life does happen without rhyme or reason. And what Carol wanted to portray was the illogical maze of the dreams, where truth is bared of humanity and reasons have no value.

      Reply

  3. lexacain
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 22:21:53

    I love this book and the movie too. It’s really one of the early King books that expanded the whole Horror genre into the mainstream, along with Carrie and Salem’s Lot. Great post! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Avinash Gupta
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 00:05:37

    I have not read the book but the movie grooved me. Nice post there

    Reply

  5. Priya
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 19:37:01

    I’m a huge Stephen King fan, but I haven’t read this book – he writes too many books, that’s my excuse. I’ll get around to it, even if I’m on a temporary hiatus from horror. “I couldn’t close my eyes.. and I couldn’t open my eyes.” That’s the always effect his writing has on you, when he’s trying to scare you. But King doesn’t just write horror, you know. You should give his other fiction a try – maybe short stories like “Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption” or the sci-fi he’s written, like Under the Dome or 11.22.63, or a mystery like Joyland: all fabulous and worth a try. Just saying, don’t give up on him after only Christine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

