Divergent

Divergent

Author’s Name: Veronica Roth

Add to GoodReads

Buy from Flipkart.com

Buy from Amazon

 

Finally after a long wait, I picked the book. And it was so compelling that I finished it in single read.

Synopsis

Divergent is about a society where the world is divided into factions– each faction has their set function, a set of characteristic that they are supposed to emulate in themselves. Dauntless believe in bravery, Candor believe in truth, Abnegation believe in selflessness, Amity believe in peace and Erudite believe in knowledge and intelligence.

Our heroine, Beatrice, is going through the selection process wherein she has to decide which faction she wants to associate to– the one her parents belong to(Abnegation) or the one she wants herself in.  The initial story is about her struggle to complete her initiation into the faction she selects. But as soon as her initiation is complete she comes to know of a plot which will destroy one faction completely. The second half of the book is about the struggle and choices Beatrice/Tris makes to save the society.

What I liked

Concept of the book–  It’s different and it’s interesting. Although somehow the faction system reminds me of caste system in my country. I know it’s not the same because caste system doesn’t give choice to people now, but when it was initiated, the concept of it must have been similar to the faction concept. Division of work, then the division of qualities, which then somehow got changed to division by birth.

Four-  I am pretty sure that he was the strongest character of the story. The way he was described–his restraint, his beauty, his power, his fear–all appealed to me. The only thing I didn’t like about him was that I guessed in the first appearance that he was Tobias. So that mystery was quite unnecessary.

Al- I loved the author for portraying the character. I always feel that author gives the characters easy way out, but Al is beautifully portrayed. Everything about him, from his crush to his power to his cruelty, was perfect.

What irked me

Concept–  Daring does not  mean that foolishness, but the dauntless activities feels foolishness sometime. They are glamorous for sure, but they are stupid too, something which no sane person will actually do. Similar was the case with other factions.

Overall Opinion

I enjoyed the story. I was so engrossed in it to think about anything else. But I don’t want to read it again and again. It’s a very interesting book, but only for one time.

Rating
Four Stars

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditisaha26
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 22:08:17

    I haven’t read the books but, I shall consider myself an Erudite just the same :p

    Reply

  2. Julia
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 23:14:42

    I am glad people are reading, but I am always honest about expressing my opinions about books. Very few YA books appeal to me as an adult because I am not really into the fantasy genre. I prefer historical fiction, historical texts, and biographies. I was that way as a kid as well, so I am thinking I probably will not read Divergent. I did read Twilight a few years ago to figure out what all the fuss was about, and even though the story was not as bad as I thought it might have been, I really did not get the attraction either.

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 04, 2014 @ 10:41:59

      I won’t call Divergent really a fantasy. It is more of a dysoptian YA novel. But I get your point. I won’t suggest you to read because the novel does have YA trademarks like simple language, teenagers characteristic, and those choppy sentences.

      If you actually want to experience fantasy, read Name of the Wind.

      Reply

  3. christinelondon
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 00:52:36

    Thank you for choosing to review books during A-z. Wonderful service to readers and authors!

    Reply

  4. Sydney Aaliyah Michelle
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 17:06:52

    I am one of those people who read the book before seeing the movie. I have this one on my list. I love the concept.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

