E=Emma by Jane Austen

For Alphabet E, I’ve selected Emma by Jane Austen. 

This book left a very deep impact on me, and that is of making me sleep. 😛

 

My rendezvous with Austen started, like everyone, with Pride and Prejudice. Then I decided to buy Emma. I started reading it very enthusiastically, but before first five pages were over, I was asleep. I blamed it on my tiredness. I tried it again, and again, and every time it was the same result. The story, the never ending descriptions, the stupidity of Emma– all is too slow for my brain. 

I tried this first time in school (Thank God it was not compulsory, else I would have slept in the exam too!). I couldn’t finish it. I tried it in the college then with the same result. Then during my job, one of my colleagues gifted the book to me. I again tried it and failed. 🙄

I haven’t read another book of Austen after that. I’m just too wary to pick any other book by her. 

❗ Final Conclusion: People need tonics and medicines to sleep; I just need Emma. 😛

 

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sukanya Ramanujan
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 21:57:05

    A twist in the tale- I was expecting a book review of Emma! Good luck with the challenge. I’m taking part as well http://sukanyaramanujan.wordpress.com/

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 05, 2014 @ 21:58:46

      Ha ha! I am not really writing the review of these books. Just the reasons how these books influenced me.

      And I will probably sleep if I start writing about Emma. 😛

      Reply

  2. aditisaha26
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 22:08:44

    Gosh this book, I could not tolerate “pride and Prejudice” either. If Austen were alive, I would join Twain and attack her house most probably

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 05, 2014 @ 22:11:03

      I actually liked Pride and Prejudice, but Emma was too much!

      I couldn’t even watch Aisha for that matter. Slept in the theater, that too when Abhay Deol was acting.

      Reply

      • aditisaha26
        Apr 05, 2014 @ 22:12:14

        Aisha? Oh that Hindi movie, i liked the songs as a matter of fact. But, then again I don’t watch Hindi movies.

      • parichitasingh
        Apr 05, 2014 @ 22:17:49

        Of course you don’t watch Hindi movies. They are meant for “vella” people like me.

        The song does express the whole novel. I wonder why did Austen turned a song-like story into a novel. 😛

      • aditisaha26
        Apr 05, 2014 @ 22:25:53

        Well, I don’t know, probably she was bored to and thought “People love me, so what is one boring novel or two”

  3. Carol
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 06:49:59

    I know I read Emma, but I don’t actually remember much of it.
    http://carolsnotebook.com

    Reply

  4. Lynn E. O'Connacht
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 13:07:15

    I didn’t get on with Emma either when I tried to read it, though I really enjoyed Pride and Prejudice as well as Sense and Sensibility. It seems to be a fairly divisive book, Emma does. For me it was just that I just plain didn’t like Emma as a character. (I know that’s the point, but. Still.)

    Reply

  5. Pen of the Sheep
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 16:26:40

    Lol we’ll that book was on my list! I can’t stand over description!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

