F= The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I call this book the second most saddest book of my life.

 

I hate reading books with Sad ending. I abhor reading books with dying heroes, because it makes me really, really sad. And this book made me sob like a baby.The book was good; there is no doubt about it. My heart went out to both Augustus and Hazel.

But then, it made me feel how many times we should actually glorify the deaths like that. I know that the conditions shown in the books happen everywhere, that people like Hazel and Augustus exists, that the meetings like that happen, that probably the people suffering from cancers can be really like that. I don’t know any such person around me, so I’m not sure it’s truth or not. But the sections in the book were glamorized to make readers cry. I don’t enjoy when characters have to go to unnecessary tribulations and this is what happens here.  

So while I enjoyed the book and cried and laughed with the characters, I also felt kind of bad about liking them. I felt bad that they were forced to be star-crossed and snatch the happiness in pieces. 

Okay I have completely mucked up this posts,  but I have mixed feelings about the book. I loved it and then hated loving it. The only thing which I loved loving was the book “Imperial Affliction”.I actually scoured the net to find out the book and read it, but then I realized it was not even the real book. 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Avinash Gupta
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 16:28:30

    Just curious, which is your first most saddest book ?

    Reply

  2. Priya
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 19:39:22

    I’ve heard a lot of good about John Green and never a “mixed feelings!” Everyone I know just loves him. But your review has convinced me to put his books on hold, at least for a while – ‘sad’ is really not what I want to read right now! You know, “glamorized to make readers cry” isn’t really my kind of book. So thanks, you saved me a few bucks with this!

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 08, 2014 @ 19:46:46

      The book is not bad; it is sad, but it touches heart.

      I would have liked it better if the sorrow and helplessness was not so overwhelming. I might be insensitive/hypersensitive(I am not sure) because I don’t know many people who suffer from cancer or any other disease like that.
      But books should give hope in someway. I lost all my hopes after reading it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

