G= Gone With the Wind

I am wondering how should I start writing about Gone with the Wind? Shall I write about Scarlett, who I feel is one of the best characters ever written? Shall I enlist how normal she feels to me  with her selfish resourcefulness and determination? Or shall I confess that she inspires me to grab my happiness by hook or crook?

Or maybe I should write about Rhett who despite being equally self-centered was the most honorable person of the novel.  Or maybe I should focus my post on how he never turned as cynical as Scarlett despite of him being much older than her.

I wonder if I should write about the war and how it changes the dreams and ambitions of a person, on how many principles one can sacrifice for survival. Shall I tell how book shows circumstances teach person everything they need to know?

I’m temped to write about the Scarlett’s illusion of love created around Ashley, and her involuntary friendship with Melanie which grounded Scarlett in the world. I also wish to talk about that nightmare that haunted her throughout the end, and about the unfairness of Rhett leaving her alone when she had lost her children!

I am not sure I can do justice to this Epic book in this small post. So, I won’t touch on any of those topics. I’ll just tell you the biggest lesson this book taught me, which was to read the end of the book first so that I do not ever have to spend three nights crying about characters like Scarlett left alone. It taught me to anticipate the incomplete endings beforehand so that I don’t spend weeks in searching and reading every sequel(fan-fiction) written to finish the story. It taught me my favorite quote which has turned into a mantra of my life: “Tomorrow is another day.” 

P.S. – This is the saddest book I’ve read till now. 

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rosie Amber
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 00:16:53

    Hi, Am I allowed to admit that I’ve never read this book or seen the film? It’s such an epic I really should read it one day!

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 09, 2014 @ 05:12:52

      Of course you are allowed to admit. It is epic even in its thickness. 😛

      It needs a lot of time, but it’s story ia worth every word. And movie was equally enthralling.

      Reply

  2. lynnsbooks
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 01:23:41

    I love this book – course it’s been a while since I read it. All about survival and adaptability. Scarlett and Rhett are such great characters to read about! And, if anyone disagrees then frankly, we don’t give a damn!
    Lynn 😀

    Reply

  3. Sonia Lal
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 02:03:10

    I’ve never read the book and never seen the movie. But from the way you speak, it’s something to behold.

    Reply

  4. sumyth23
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 13:43:08

    It was a terrific book, and one notch less, a terrific movie. Loved the review. And writing about Scarlett, would be one post I would love to read. S, maybe? 😛

    Reply

  5. upenreddy
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 21:57:13

    B’coz of the volume i never dared to pick this book. But soon il get my hands on it.

    Reply

  6. upenreddy
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 22:02:11

    Because of the volume i never dared to pick this book. But i have to get my hands on it

    Reply

  7. KEERTHI
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 20:49:06

    That a great review and the book is a good one.Its worth reading.

    Reply

  8. zenkatwrites
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 03:34:54

    It is a good review. Not one of my favorite books but I picked it to read because, so sorry, not into fantasy fiction. She was the template for the modern romance novels!

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 18, 2014 @ 10:15:24

      Yes. I do believe that three books laid the foundation of modern romance: Gone with the Wind. Jane Eyre, and Wuthering Heights. Most of the love stories, real or fictional, can come back to these three books.

      Reply

  9. Trackback: W=Wuthering Heights | Parichita Singh

Leave a Reply

