H=Harry Potter

H for me is equal to Harry Potter. The Harry Potter series didn’t change my life. It didn’t change my thoughts, but it provided me a dream world to live in. I was in college when the books became all rage. I neither had the money to buy those book, not the inclination to dive in the fantasy. But then one of my travel companion loaned it to me. I read it in that random bus ride. By the time, my home came, I was halfway through that book. Next day, I was in the same bus and was able to finish the book. Second book was loaned like this. Third book was loaned like this. But by the time I reached at the fourth book, the travel companion’s transfer letter came, and she left. So then I decided to beg my parents for those books on my birthday. It was at fourth book I guess. 

 

This book left me mesmerized by its magic and creatures, by its amazing yet so normal world. It gave me characters which were not happy, but were able to find happiness. And it gave me Tom Riddle– a neglected yet adorable villain. I fell in love with him in Chamber of Secrets. As he told about Ginny pouring her words, I gave my heart to him. 

The book gave me laughter and sorrow at many points. I yearned for friends like Ron and Hermoine and a teacher/guide like Dumbledore.  I wished for a caretaker like Hagrid. 

The best thing about the book was the plotting. One sentence said in second book would go and join itself to the fourth book. Dobby, a small elf, goes and becomes a hero in the end. I was awed by how author strung the story together, how all the events were connected. There wasn’t even a single loose thread. Every event, every word had a meaning. 

I call this as my bus stand book as I read first five books on the bus stands. I would miss the bus after bus, just to finish one chapter. I missed classes because I was taking lessons at Hogwarts. I even bunked office once to finish the last installment of the book. (Shh, it’s a secret!)

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 02:41:33

    Oh Harry Potter is wonderful. I love the world.

    Reply

  2. Jeyna Grace
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 08:18:06

    I think I learned more from Hogwarts than in real school too. Haha!

    Reply

  3. lmalouie
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 09:19:35

    Ah yes! I either live there, Middle Earth or Alagaesia (Eragon).

    Reply

  4. Shahira
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 02:58:20

    Oh. Harry Potter. I was in grade 7 or 8 when the first book came. Every year thereafter I used to eagerly await for the new book. The 6 and 7th book I read online sitting on my PC ( way before Kindle and tab came !).
    Hermione , Ron and Harry are my adolescent friends ! Read the books again this year at age 25 and they still mesmerise me as they did a decade ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

