J=Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre is a very recent read. I read it as a part of literature course of Coursera. Although I wan’t able to finish the course successfully, I did finish this book.

The first thing I noticed when I read Jane Eyre was the number of colons and semi-colons. I had known about these punctuation marks for sure, but this book amazed me with the sheer usage of these punctuation marks, and I actually realized the meaning of evolution of language.

As the detail after detail of Jane’s life unfolded in the story, I understood how even the never-ending descriptions can be interesting if the story is good. I loved Jane. I didn’t care a lot for Mr. Rochester initially (because I absolutely hate people who lie by omission!), but then as his condition turned pitiful, he started redeeming himself in my mind. Oh, yes, I am absolutely cruel that way!

The description of evil Mrs. Reed and that ghost scene was just too much. And death of Helen… I almost left the book after that. But the lure of finishing the cure was the bait which made me reach the last page of the book. And I’m glad it did. Because otherwise I would have been deprived of the happiest of happy ending. I wish every heroine could be as independent to say: “Reader, I married him.” with that special emphasis on “I” and without aiming to turn into a queen or princess.  

My favorite quote and mantra from Charlotte Bronte:

“I would always rather be happy than dignified.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynnsbooks
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 00:38:32

    It is a good ending. I’m glad you persevered to the end, I think it’s worth it – although it’s been a while since I read this. I should give it another go.
    Lynn 😀

    Reply

  2. Sonia Lal
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 05:32:54

    I never read this book, but I’ve read others that use semicolons Iike crazy.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: W=Wuthering Heights | Parichita Singh

Leave a Reply

