K=Kingkiller Chronicles

Kingkiller Chronicle

 

 

With K, I bring to you one of my favorite fantasy novel series – Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. The two books of the series, The Name of The Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear has been released already, while the third book in the series is not due by next year.

I try not to read the series which are not complete because I’m impatient. I wasn’t going to read this book; I was just browsing through it in the bookstore because its name was interesting. Besides, many had raved about it, so I was just going to see what it’s about. And then… then I came across the prologue of the book. The first stanza of the prologue begins with this:

The Waystone Inn lay in silence, and it was a silence of three parts.

The most obvious part was a hollow, echoing quiet, made by things that were lacking. If there had been a wind it would have sighed trough the trees, set the inn’s sign creaking on its hooks, and brushed the silence down the road like trailing autumn leaves. If there had been a crowd, even a handful of men inside the inn, they would have filled  the silence with conversation and laughter, the clatter and clamour one expects from a drinking house during the dark hours of the night. If there had been music…but no, of curse there was no music. In fact there were none of these things, and so the silence remained.

Intriguing, right? I read through the second stanza which was equally spectacular, but what hooked me was the last stanza:

The third silence was not an easy thing to notice. If you listened for an hour, you might begin to feel it in the wooden floor underfoot and in the rough, splintering barrels behind the bar. It was in the weight of the black stone heart that held the heat of a long-dead fire. It was in the slow back and forth of a white linen cloth rubbing  along the grain of the bar, and it was in the hands of the man who stood there, polishing a stretch of mahogany that already gleamed in the lamplight.

And I was addicted to these Chronicles. I have read them four times (or maybe five times since last year) and its beauty never fades. Kvothe, the hero of the book, is spectacular. This book (story)tells the story of Kvothe, touching on his childhood, education, love interests, friends, and more importantly, his heroics. The world where the book is set is well-defined.

These books are huge, LOTR type huge. But although we see everything Kvothe does and did, he still remains a mystery. Till date the reason of calling it “Kingkiller” chronicle has not been explained.

I believe that thirty years from now on, people will talk about this series as we talk today of Lord of The Rings.  I can go and explain what I liked in the book, or I can save your time and ask you to just buy and read it. If nothing else, you could tell your grand-grandchildren that you read the book even before the series was finished.

 

P.S. – If you have clicked on Goodreads, Patrick’s review: I kinda liked this book. But my opinion on the matter probably shouldn’t be trusted… always crack me up

P.P.S- You should follow him on his blog http://blog.patrickrothfuss.com/. It is very interesting. 

P.P.S.-  Doesn’t he look like Hagrid? 😛

P.P.P.S- If you don’t understand these P.S. notes, please go and click on the links above. You should be able to muddle through. 

P.P.P.P.S – Just being annoying. 😀

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aman
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 23:13:22

    These certainly are one of those good books. I was never going to read them too but one of my friends recommended me and played me in reading it and till date I am thankful to him. I still reading the second part though. 🙂

    Reply

  2. lynnsbooks
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 00:08:46

    I picked up the first book a few years ago purely by accident – it was in a charity shop for something silly like 50 pence! Kind of liked the look/sound of it and from there became hooked. Can’t wait for No.3.
    Lynn 😀

    Reply

  3. Sonia Lal
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 07:50:34

    I love LOVE love this series!!!

    Reply

  4. Glenda Cates
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 19:25:46

    These are the types of books my husband enjoys reading and so I will share your post with him

    Reply

  5. sumyth23
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 17:06:35

    P.P.P.P.P.S: It was a lovely read! 😀

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Monday Musings: Series Books | Parichita Singh

Leave a Reply

