M= Midnight’s Children

Alphabet M brings the most frustrating book I have come across. So frustrating that my post is going to be extremely short and sour.

Midnight’s Children is not a bad book; it definitely has some mesmerizing language, but I have never referred to dictionary as many times as I did in this book. I read this some eight-nine years ago probably and never finished it. Its sentences were so long and complicated, by the time I read the complete sentence, I forgot what I was reading.

Same thing goes with the paragraph. By the time I reached the end of a long description, I’d have totally forgotten the what was the point of the description.

I did finish the book and I do know there were two boys whose destiny was entwined with destiny of India, but beyond that there’s nothing I remember or I understood.

There are  not many books which make me feel stupid, but this one made me feel so. And after that I decided that such books are not made for me. If I think objectively, it is entirely possible that  twenty was not the right age to read it. Or maybe because I was almost venturing out into new fields, this book was too huge an adventure for too narrow of my mind.  Maybe my experience will be different if I pick it up now, but that calls for a lot of courage and time-spending with dictionary which I don’t want. So, that is it- my first and only experience Salman Rushdie’s skills.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. johnmarkmiller
    Apr 16, 2014 @ 02:20:35

    Yuck – thanks for the warning!

    Reply

  2. aditisaha26
    Apr 16, 2014 @ 12:34:45

    This is definitely not the book you would start literary fiction with. Rushdie is a complicated author, and I hated him when I was in Class 8 or so. Right now, i have not begun reading him again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

