N= Naked in Death

N was the most difficult letter for me. Hence I have selected a book I read last year, Naked in Death. This is in fact a huge series of 40 books which has still not ended, but I have only read first two books till now.

I won’t say that the book was spectacular, but it was one of the <i>different</i> kind of futuristic world. This world exists in 2058 and there are not sci-fi elements. It is the kind of world which I can expect after fifty years. The guns are antique although the crime still exists. The prostitution is legalized and recognized as a legit profession with a proper license. The futuristic elements and equipment like Autochef, Gilda grill are not really explained in detail, but only hinted at. This might be disliked by many, but it completely engaged me. It gave me a skeleton of future to build my imagination.

Then there was the romance. A female police officer who didn’t swoon at the hotness of the heroes, who didn’t go forth and change herself at the drop of his *ahem* shirt *ahem*, even if the hero is hot.

It might not have made to the list if not for the futuristic element which I think are possible if not in 2058, then at least by 3058.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditisaha26
    Apr 16, 2014 @ 21:29:19

    Seems like a romance where sci fi elements were added forcibly to make it seem more edgy O.o

    Reply

    • Sonia Lal
      Apr 17, 2014 @ 04:12:31

      I disagree. I think the scifi elements are quite natural to the book and not forced in any way.

      Reply

      • aditisaha26
        Apr 17, 2014 @ 09:30:10

        I have not read the book of course. I would not know, but, it does give off that vibe.

      • parichitasingh
        Apr 17, 2014 @ 22:19:02

        Your vibes are a bit incorrect. A book doesn’t need to be Divergent to be Sci-fi or futuristic. I never see that as my future. But this book with its advanced technology does seem like the thing which might happen in future.

      • Sonia Lal
        Apr 18, 2014 @ 02:34:19

        Yes. In this series you can argue about if it’s romance or scifi or mystery -and I have blogged about it. But one reason why it’s natural is that the tech effects almost many facets of life, medical, computer laws, robotics. And there are new laws about all of it, too.

  2. Sonia Lal
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 02:37:06

    Um, I meant to say beauty and health instead of robotics. Though there are plenty of increases in robotics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

