R=Romeo and Juliet

Sorry for being delayed again. I have been keeping a bit unwell, and the meds made me too drowsy to write, or to even check the computer. 😦

Anyway, for R, I wanted to talk about Romeo and Juliet. I am sure all of us have heard about this amazing story by Shakespeare. I don’t have a problem with the story as such. But I do have a problem with the way it is absorbed by the people in general.

1) I do not believe in love at first sight. What you get at first sight is either lust, or that feeling of connection. It is never ever love. Love grows afterwards. Call me weird, call me a product of idealistic ideas, but I don’t believe in first love.

2) It equally irks me when people talk about ending their life after someone has left them, claiming to become a hero like Romeo. (This is the problem with the Indian love stories too!) Why does a person need to commit suicide to prove that they loved someone? How would they know if they could live without that person without even trying? Besides, I do not believe that there is only one kind of love. If that’s one reason for you to die, then there is your family’s love to live for. Let us consider that one hate one’s family, then one should at least learn to love oneself.

3) Then there’s that enmity between two families. How does one really get time to hate so much? I do not have even time to embrace my writing passion properly, while others have time to hate and plot against each other.

Before you point out, I know that this book is fiction, and I do appreciate Shakespeare’s capability to weave a tale that people can relate with. But this one story has become a bench mark for love and passion. In my personal opinion, this is just a mockery of those feelings, an exaggeration made to show the mirror of future at that time. After all, Juliet’s age was thirteen when all that drama happened. Call me cynic if you want but this is what I believe.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Priya
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 13:15:43

    “A mockery”! Oh I am so glad to have found someone who agrees with me! Shakespeare has that characteristic tongue-in-cheek humour in so many of his plays. I’ve always said, I love Romeo and Juliet if it’s a cautionary tale about how love should not be, an exaggerated parody – and coming from the Bard, that’s believable. If it was intended to be sincere, I think the story is more disturbing than romantic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

