S=Succubus Blues

With S, I want to talk about a series which introduced me to the world of Succubus. It starts with Succubus Blues and has six books in the series.

My paranormal vocabulary is a bit limited. I know about vampires, shape-shifters, wizards, witches, dragons, orcs, elves, angels, hobbits—but succubus? Before I read these books they were mystery to me. As I read the book, they became those intriguing monsters, and by the end of the series, they turned into pure victims.

Succubus is shown as a male/female who suck the soul of the person by having physical/emotional relation with them. They corrupt people and bring them nearer to the hell. This is a story of one such succubus. She falls in love with a guy, a writer(!!!) whom she cannot touch else she might steal his pure soul.

I fell in love with the characters, the way Georgina, the succubus, bargains with the Devil, the way Devil contract works, the way an angel try to save her life and the way both hero and heroine try to make up for their past mistakes and reach their happily ever after.

The concept of the book was good, but like all the series, by the time you reach the end, the story almost sizzles out. There’s nothing much left apart from the boring closure. But its ending satisfied me. I can write a lot more, but everything else will reveal the story, which I obviously don’t want.

This book doesn’t have many glowing reviews, I know, but weird things stay with me. This book is something which has been in my mind like forever.

Oh, and the heroine of this book is a book-addict who reads only one page a day so that she is able to horde reading till the next book of her favorite authors. Very patient, I know!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. simplygauche
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 22:43:31

    I enjoyed this series despite the reviews, I like Georgina, I like her book love and weird “chapter a day” habit (which I could NEVER stick to). It’s not high literature, but it has stuck with me too;)

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Monday Musings: Series Books | Parichita Singh

Leave a Reply

