U=Ulysses

I have two obsessions in literature: One is Dante, and the second one is Ulysses by James Joyce.

My journey to Ulysses has been long. I was a kid when I read about Ithaca first. Then I came across Tennyson’s Ulysses. And finally to James Joyce.

Ulysses is the story of modern Odysseus through the streets of Dublin. So, it made sense that I should read Odysseus first. And let me tell you, getting into Homer’s Odysseus has been a huge chore. I finally managed to finish Odysseus story last year with Coursera’s Greek Mythology course.

I am yet to start Ulysses in reality, but it has occupied so many years of my life that it feels like a friend. The book has been lying with me for so long that I have formed an attachment with its physical copy. I am afraid that if I open the book, my relationship with Ulysses will vanish.

So, the book is waiting patiently for me to pick it up and read. I surely will start it, as soon as I find my next obsession. 😉

Oh, and Dante’s story is for some other time.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Apr 25, 2014 @ 03:35:11

    I have never read Ulysses! Or anything by James Joyace. I had to read some of Dante for English class, though.

    Reply

  2. parichitasingh
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 12:48:34

    What did you read of Dante? Divine comedy or La Vita Nuova?

    Reply

  3. Sonia Lal
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 00:51:46

    Some of his Paradise, which is the last part of Divine Comedy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

