W=Wuthering Heights

In the previous posts, I already introduced you two of my favorite romances- Jane Eyre and Gone With the Wind. Today, I bring to you the third romance– Wuthering Heights.

 

While the previous two books were about sacrifice and selfishness, Wuthering Heights is about obsession and ego. It explores every cruel way possible to show these two features. While I would call Gone With the Wind a sweet seduction and actually a romance, Wuthering Heights is not really romance. It’s about madness to prove yourself, the vengeance to punish the world which mistreated you, and the obsession to go to any extents to achieve what you desire.

The book has very dark characters; each one tops the others in their hypocrisy. And everyone suffers because of the sins of their parent(s). The characters are monsters with every bad quality possible, yet you cannot help but like their flawed character. And the best part is that every women is called Catherine, and every man is called Earnshaw/Heathcliff. It gives an impression that the book is trying to find Catherine and Heathcliff in us too.

And that is the reason it makes the triangle of my favorite romance stories complete. Its madness shows what the other two books couldn’t show. I believe that if you dissect any of the love story to bare bones, you could fit it in the framework of these three books.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cindyfazzi
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 23:03:50

    I also like both “Gone with the Wind” and “Wuthering Heights” but I don’t consider them romance because they lack one crucial element: a happy ending. Nevertheless, they’re great reads. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Apr 26, 2014 @ 23:11:10

      Wuthering Heights doesn’t have the happy ending, but Gone with the Wind doesn’t have an ending. “Tomorrow is another day” is a call for next day’s story.

      That is why I added three books to complete the definition of romance. Every romance doesn’t have an happy endings, some never ends and are left incomplete, while a few reach their happy endings.

      Thanks a lot for giving another dimension to my romance triology.

      Reply

  2. lynnsbooks
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 17:53:44

    I must admit that Wuthering Heights isn’t one of my favourites – I do love Gone with the Wind and Jane Eyre. I think to an extent the characters in this story are just too unlikable and the story itself too bleak. Also, I watched the film (the old black and white one) before I read the book and on this occasion I actually preferred it! Which very rarely happens with me.
    Good review
    Lynn 😀

    Reply

  3. Sonia Lal
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 00:58:49

    This is another book I had to read for class. I disliked it so much.

    And the relationship between Heathcliff and Catherine felt incestuous to me. Espiscally when I mentioned that and the teacher said: Heathcliff may have been the son, because back in that time men did bring back their bastard children by a mistress/nonwife to raise. They rarely brought back strange children to raise for other reasons, and if they did, you would know it. So . . . yeah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

