Y= Yellow Wallpaper.

I am late again.

With “Y” I want to bring a little book called The Yellow Wallpaper. This is not exactly a novel, but a kind of a short story; my thoughts on it are also quite few.

 

It’s a story of a woman who is captured in the dictates of society.  She likes to write, but is bounded by the life of domesticity. Her husband believes that she should not write as it is creating an alternate realities in her mind. This suppressed creativity of her forces her to find the stories in the pattern of the wallpaper of her room.  Somehow she starts finding her own imprisonment in that wallpaper.

I have read this book many times, and every time it hypnotizes me with the description of the wallpaper. I am amazed how the author finds the pattern of a wallpaper like a story. It also stayed with me because of the plight of the woman of that era. I am amazed how her husband treats her creative urges as illness.

This is a story of madness, a story of dictates of society, and also a horror story which will haunt one for quite long.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 21:58:39

    I read this in class. It wasn’t that mad. I think it’s more about how mentally ill women were treated back in the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

