Z= The Zahir

With Z, we reach the end of the challenge. I know I have not been regular in posting,but this month has been a roller coaster for me in real life. As promised, with Z, I bring to you my second favorite book known as The Zahir.

This book was suggested to me by my friend. He told me that I’ll love the book. I started reading the book and was utterly bored. After first thirty pages, I called my friend and shouted a lot on him. He suggested me to read till hundred pages and then return his copy if I’m still bored. Till date, I haven’t returned his copy. 😛

As the story progressed I realized that the Zahir has given words to my own thoughts. What I think about marriage, my thoughts about love, my views about happiness–all have been given a color in this book.

There were times when the book went off the tangent, but on the whole this book of Paulo Coelho left me with a profound feeling of gratitude towards life. It left me with a feeling of confidence towards my own views.

 

I’ll like to share one of my favorite stanzas:

“I heard other people speaking in the name of freedom and the more they defended this unique right, the more enslaved the seemed to be to the parent’s wishes, to a marriage in which they had promised to stay with the other person “for the rest of their lives,” to the bathroom scales, to their diet, to the half-finished projects, to lovers to whom they were incapable of saying “No”, or “It’s over”, to weekends when they were obliged to have lunch with people they didn’t even like. Slaves to luxury, to the apperance of luxury, to the appearance of the appearance of luxury. Slaves to a life they had not chosen, but which they had decided to live because someone had managed to convince them that it was all for the best. And so their identical days and nights passed, days and nights in which adventure was just a word in a book or an image on the television that was always on, and whenever a door opened, they would say “I’m not interested, I’m not in the mood.”

 

Zahir means the fixation on everything that had been passed from generation to generation ; it left no question unanswered , it looks up all the space ; it never allowed us even to consider the possibility that things could change.  It might not have a lot in terms of story; it might not be a favorite of many people; it might be a big bore for many, but for me, this book is my Zahir, my textbook of life.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 21:56:37

    I’ve never heard of this story, but I think I would’ve been bored too.

    Reply

  2. The Resurgent Bookworm
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 22:24:18

    Congrats on finishing the challenge ! And the Zahir is going to my wishlist 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

