Top Ten Tuesday- Books I have read this year

Top Ten Tuesday is the weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Topic for today is Top Ten Books I have read this year.  

After finishing the A to Z challenge, I went into a reading rut. It is not a bad place to be, but that means I almost read 35 books in these days. This includes reading and re-reading of some books. Some of these books are yet to make entry to this blog.

 

1) Heart of Obsidian – This book is the 12th book in the Psy Changeling series. For all those who have read the previous books, it is the story of Kaleb. I think since the beginning, I just wanted to read the story of two characters- Hawk and Kaleb. Although I was a bit disappointed by Hawk’s story(book#10), this book did justice to the character of Kaleb. Right from his control to his power to his obsidian shields, it was just too perfect!

I don’t advise the people who haven’t read the previous book to read it. Start from the beginning; you won’t regret it.

2) The Chocolate Thief – The book has chocolate in title. *sigh* It not only has the chocolate in title; it has the whole story which revolves around chocolate and pastries. Can you believe that I had such a craving while reading this book that I had to shift to a chocolate cafe to finish the story without distraction? An amazing story, and some delicious word-imagery.

3) Turquoise Silence– There are not many poetry books, but this one stayed. I have read it thrice since then. A beautiful book with some touching poems. Some samples can be found in my review.

4) Divergent– I am not talking about a book here, but the whole series again. It was interesting concept to read and some very memorable characters.

5) By My Choice – A novella which just makes my day. It’s a beautiful story which captures you, and it features vampires.

6) Mercy Thrompson – Again a series with some very interesting characters.

7) Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs – I know this makes it too many vampire novels, but I was just too fascinated by their species. This book, in fact the whole series, is funny, poignant and interesting.  A chicklit vampire story.

8) Hunger Games– Again a series which I read this year and a very different story. I think I do understand what the hype is all about.

9) The Ocean at the end of the lane – My first Neil Gaiman book, and the one which will stay with me for a long time.

10) Eleanor and Park – I know I need to read something more than YA books, but this was one of the sweetest books.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynnsbooks
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 23:59:30

    I’ve read four of your choices, Mercedes, Divergent, Hunger Games and The Girl with the Ocean. Nice picks.
    Lynn 😀

    Reply

  2. amandasnoseinabook
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 01:24:23

    Eleanor and Park and The Ocean at the End of the Lane were both wonderful reads. I’m glad that you liked them! You have some great books on your list!!!

    Reply

  3. Avinash Gupta
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 10:36:53

    I feel bad, I have just read Hunger Games among your list

    Reply

  4. Michelle
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 11:18:05

    Nothing wrong with having some YA in the mix! I thoroughly enjoyed Divergent, Hunger Games, and Eleanor and Park, too! I’ve read Coraline by Neil Gaiman, but I haven’t gotten to The Ocean at the End of the Lane yet.

    Michelle @ In Media Res

    Reply

  5. Delia (Postcards from Asia)
    Jun 28, 2014 @ 21:57:42

    The Chocolate Thief, now that’s a yummy title!
    I loved loved loved loved (well, multiply that by a thousand, or wait, maybe more) The Ocean at the End of the Lane. Such a beautiful book, so glad to see it made it into your top 10 this year and it was your first Gaiman!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: The Chocolate Thief– A “Delicious” book with “Chocolate” romance | Parichita Singh

Leave a Reply

