Tuesday Rants

Have you ever suffered from reading ennui? It is the time when nothing you read interests you, sort of like a reader’s block. (And, no this is not the literal definition.)

I have been suffering from this situation for quite a long time. I have read books of all kinds for last few months, but nothing seems to capture me or inspire me to write here.  Call it an excuse if you want, but it’s the fact for me. Even the good books failed to enrapture me. For a time, I wondered if I have lost my interest in reading. Good news is, no, I haven’t.  Finally after a long, long time, my reading ennui is broken. I have been ensnared again by not one, but two books.

1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone – Review for this should be coming up soon, but I just can’t resist saying: What a fantastic book! I’m absolutely in love with Karou.

2. Where Even The Present Is Ancient: Benaras– Another book whose review you’ll hear soon, but honestly thought provoking poetry can break even the strongest walls, and this book does that.

Have you ever felt such condition? What do you do to break this reader’s block if it comes?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 08:49:10

    Yes, just lately. But I’ve started Ancillary Justice and it broke through the ennui.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

