Nanowrimo and the month of writing

I love November. The winters are standing at the doorstep and summer is saying goodbye. More than that, I love that it’s the season of Nanowrimo. For those who don’t know,

NANOWRIMO= National Novel Writing Month

Follow nanowrimo.org for further details.

Three years ago, somebody nudged me towards this site. Till then I had never imagined that I can write a story, forget the novel. But when I saw the site, I argued(with myself, of course) that what’s the harm in joining the site. I was/am a poet first, but then I didn’t have to pay anything to join the site. So, I joined and watched the volley of exchange taking place on the site from the sidelines. By 10th of Nov, the conversations in the site forums had me so excited that I decided to write the story. I had no plot, no idea, nothing, just the wish that I want to join in the fun everyone was having.

I was watching a Hindi TV serial then, and out of the serial, I picked up two supporting characters who only appeared in one episode. There were prompts being posted on the Nano India forum and wordpress blog, and I just answered those prompts. I had fifteen days as I had to go outstation on 25th Nov(which happens almost every year). Within those 15 days, I shaped my characters and wrote 1200-1500 words. I didn’t finish the story, neither did I win Nano that year, but silently I was sucked into writing the world of the characters. I never got the courage to talk to the fellow members that year, but I saw the potential of kinship there. It felt as I’ve come to a place where people were as crazy as me.

That was one year when I was afraid to even start NaNo, and it’s this year when I can’t imagine Nov. without NaNoWriMo. I’m going to write, and if you haven’t joined the bandwagon, dive in the fun. You might not succeed, you might not pen a masterpiece(I haven’t yet!), but then you’ll have the satisfaction of trying to write a novel.

In the words of Chuck Wendig,

It’s an empty field and you’ve got the keys to a freaking Ferrari.

It’s a white tablecloth and you’ve got ketchup, mustard, and relish.

It’s a blank page and you’ve got all the letters and words you need.

Rev the engine and take the ride. Paint with all the colors the condiments at your table allow. Create whatever robot-human monstrosities your mind cares to conjure. Crack open your chest and plop your heart onto the page.

Follow Indian Wrimo Scenario at the following places:

Facebook

Site Forum

Wrimo India Blog

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn E. O'Connacht
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 20:20:57

    *waves pompoms* I hope you’ll enjoy this year’s NaNoWriMo and your writing! ❤

    Reply

  2. Sonia Lal
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 08:58:29

    Good luck. It’s tough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

