Food Blogs–my latest addiction

This post is not about books. Or maybe it’s in a way about books as well.

I have a latest addiction and that is stalking the food blogs and experimenting with the recipes. I am vegetarian and I do not even take eggs. I am also a teetotaler.  That limited my cooking experience to only Indian dishes as I used to think that nobody can cook a decent non-Indian food without eggs or wine or some other kind of alcohol, certainly not without spending hours in the kitchen. So, my foray in cooking never extended to things like baking or pizza or anything western/eastern/Europeon for that matter. We used to have a microwave oven, but the poor oven was used only for reheating the food. When extra space was needed in the kitchen, the first thing to be discarded was that oven because we can always reheat in the normal pots and pans. We became ovenless once more.

Then one day somebody talked to me about making an eggless cake in pressure cooker. My ears perked up on hearing about it. Next day I was experimenting with the recipe given to me and mixing the cake batter. It turned out to be a disaster as I misread teaspoon as tablespoon and I added one tablespoon each of baking soda and vanilla. All I could taste was the bitterness of it. All was quiet again for sometime.

That was around the time I started blogging and I thought if there are blogs about everything else, there must be blogs about cooking too. I did few random searches and stumbled upon Ali Baba’s treasure. I haven’t looked back since then.

I still do not own the oven, but I have a battered, old gas tandoor which does 75% of the work of electric oven for me (although I’m sure that oven will be much more efficient and mistake proof). I have few favorite Indian and Western blogs I like to read through and I’m always on the lookout for new ones. The photographs in those blogs are so droolworthy that I wish myself to be a photographer.

So, here are few of my favorites food blogs. Even if you don’t cook, you can enjoy some beautiful images here:

1) Oh She Glows

2)Oh My Veggies

3) Veggie Belly

4) Rak’s Kitchen

5) Vegan Richa

Believe me there are many other blogs I like to drool over, but these are the blogs from where I have already taken one or two recipes and tried them “successfully” at home.

So how’s this about the books?

I,two days ago, came across the book of Angela from “Oh She Glows”. A friend of mine is a proud owner of that book and as I was singing the praises of the blog, he showed me the book. I was totally green with envy. I so want that book, and in order to assuage the guilt of purchasing such an expensive book(1500 Rs. :-() I’m going to give it to myself as a birthday gift.

But this made me wonder about the other blogs I was following and I saw many other interesting books as well. And my book list gained few more names.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 04:06:57

    I like food blogs and I have a binder where I save printed out recipes. I got it years after I lost an eggless cake recipe. That one was pretty good.

    There are lots of good non-indian veggie, eggless recpies. Okay, I care more about the veggie part than the eggless part. Experimenting is interesting. Especially desserts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

