The Chocolate Thief– A “Delicious” book with “Chocolate” romance

13585501

Author’s Name: Laura Florand

Add to GoodReads

Buy from Amazon

Before I write this review, let me tell you that this is one book I’ve read five times. First time was in June when I mentioned it in one of my musings. But since it was the part of a series, I wanted to finish the series first before writing the review.

There are books which can make one flutter with the romantic tension, and then there are books which can make one crave the chocolate, romance, characters and the story. This is one such book. Normally, when I’m reading I don’t even like to get up for water. This is the only book which, during the process of reading itself, made me go out in a chocolate cafe to sample some goodness described in the story. The story was so descriptive that I had to be in the fragrance described in the book.

Summary:

Paris

Breathtakingly beautiful, the City of Light seduces the senses, its cobbled streets thrumming with possibility. For American Cade Corey, it’s a dream come true, if only she can get one infuriating French chocolatier to sign on the dotted line…

Chocolate

Melting, yielding yet firm, exotic, its secrets are intimately known to Sylvain Marquis. But turn them over to a brash American waving a fistful of dollars? Jamais Not unless there’s something much more delectable on the table…

Stolen Pleasure

Whether confections taken from a locked shop or kisses in the dark, is there anything sweeter?

This is the story of Cade who is the heir of Corey chocolates sold everywhere in the world. She comes to Paris in order to convince a chocolatier to endorse her premium chocolate line. Sylvian was her obvious choice as he was best in business, but when he looks at her horrified by the idea of branding the “Corey” chocolates as his, things go afire.

It’s a story of romance which kicks one like chocolate punch.

What I Liked:

1) Descriptions/Imagery/Writing: I don’t know what to call it. I should name it witchery as the language of the story bewitched me and like a book-machine took me inside the pages of the story. Absolutely delightful and engaging. An Example for you people:

All around her, the sorcerer lurked, in every darkest shadow. He was not there, of course. Logic told her he was home asleep. But logic had little to do with the feel of him. He was here. She felt him here. Watching her explore his lair – his eyes gleaming in the shadows.

One more:

The spice jars felt cold and round under her hand. Hot chocolate should have a touch of vanilla, fresh from Tahiti. A stick of cinnamon from Sri Lanka. Nutmeg from . . . Zanzibar? She hoped it was. In her opinion, every life should have something in it that came from Zanzibar.

I’m not sure these lines can make you feel the words or not, but they do transport me back into the book.

2) Paris: I have never been to Paris, but if somebody ask me where should a romance story be set up, I’ll go for two cities–Paris and Venice(Or maybe Scotland). But seriously Paris tops the list.  But the books brought the city alive. It brought those charms to forefront. One more example:

Outside, Paris put on darkness the way her women dressed for excitement – a black dress sliding over skin, something glittering in its threads. Paris pulled black net stockings over her elegant lines, added high-heeled black boots to click against pavement. Buildings lit in strings of jewels – an earring here, a bracelet there, and a shimmer of something over the skin, a dusting of glitter.

Cade stood at the window, watching that glittering, promising night through that cursed pane of glass. She watched it until it got tired of itself, until the jewels started to come back off, tossed carelessly on a bedside table – lights in apartments going out, heels stripping off, sore feet tucked under the covers.

3) Chocolate: And here’s where I can’t give examples. I never thought that chocolate making can be such a mesmerizing/arousing hobby. I never imagined that the description of the taste of chocolate can make me “tingle”. The author lured me in with the chocolate in title and made me the ardent follower with the description of the taste.

I am well aware that all the three points can be covered in single heading, but then it won’t do justice to the book. I liked everything about the book.

Final Thoughts

The book is a chicklit. You’ll find many who’ll say that such silly stories don’t deserve five stars, but my idea of judging the book is about how it made me feel, how much it was able to take me away from this world. This book did that and hence it deserves the five stars.

Warning for the prospective readers: You’ll crave chocolate after reading the book. So, keep the stash nearby.

Five Stars

Leave a Reply

