2015– My blogging goals.

This post makes me feel so organized while I’m not at all like that. I made a mess of 2014 posts–missing a few deadlines for the Book Club, forgetting to post the book reviews for the books I read, losing the track of short stories and movies I was supposed to read and watch. So this time I’m going to make a schedule– or something which can remind me that I had a vision in the beginning of the year. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to follow it or not, but one can always try. Right? (I’m imagining all my readers shouting yes! :P)

1) Musing Mondays by Should be Reading – I just love this Meme. There are so many things I want to rant about– about the books I read, about the worlds that is portrayed in the book and I absolutely adore writing for this meme. So, I’ll continue with this. Probably I’ll try to be more regular.

2) Top Ten Tuesdays from The Broke and Bookish – This is another interesting theme I love to follow. I can’t promise to be regular in it, but it is too much fun to think about your favorite or your non-favorite things mentioned in this link.

3) Book Reviews – People survive on food, air, and water; I survive on food, air, water, and books. So, you’ll of course get to read book reviews (rants included)– of both new and old writers. My target is to write at least 60 reviews this year.

4) Movies and Short Stories – I’m still so behind on these. But I discovered that I loved the short stories I read and learned quite a lot from them. Same goes for the movies too. I’m giving myself a smaller target this year and that is only of thirty each. Thirty movies and thirty short stories should not be too difficult in an year, right? That’s almost like one short story and movie every alternate week. I think, doable.

5) Weekly Writing Challenge by Daily Post- This will be a new addition. I have always been afraid of showcasing my writing anywhere. So, this seems like a good practice to inculcate.

6) Flash Fiction Challenge- I have seen them floating in the blogosphere. There are many weekly flash fiction challenges. I don’t know which ones I’ll participate in, but I’ll like to try some to sharpen my own skills. I know one blogger, Sonia Lal, who’s almost regular in her Friday Flashes. I’ll probably follow in her footsteps, albeit a bit non-regularly. Or probably I can mix the weekly writing challenge with flash fiction challenge. Bottom line is that there will be some “extra” writing going on the blog too.

So, that’s all I want to promise myself on last day of 2014. I am pretty much sure that these goals will be shorn and shaped into something else by the end of 2015, but then, change is the soul of goals life. Let’s aim for the stars, then probably I’ll be able to cross the earth’s atmosphere. (See, I still have smaller goals!)

To all those who’re reading this, wish you a very Happy New Years. May you have a contented year ahead! Do take a moment to thank 2014 for its awesomeness or for taking some burden off your karmas (if your year was a litany of mishappenings like mine).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 00:22:35

    Ha! I have been very non-regular with the flashes, especially this past month. LOL

    And 60 reviews is a lot. I aim for 52, one a week, but have never really managed that either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

