Landline By Rainbow Rowell : A Book Review

I was wondering where to start my reading journey of 2015 from. That was then I remembered Landline in my TBR list. A Goodread winner always incites the curiosity but if it’s from the author you’ve read before, the excitement to read the book doubles up. Same thing happened with me too.

LandLine Cover

Author’s Name: Rainbow Rowell

Add to GoodReads

Buy from Amazon.in

 

 

 

 

 

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble;it has been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now.

Maybe that was always beside the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

This book is the story about Georgie and Neal who have been married for many years and their marriage is on rocks. The time comes when Georgie decides to select her career instead of celebrating Christmas in Omaha. When Neal leaves, Georgie is left with the question whether the relationship is over. And then she finds the old landline phone which help us communicate with Neal of the past. It’s fantasy mixed with romance and reality.

What I liked

1) Non-stereotypical characters: It’s not a book which portrays men as the bread earner and the women as the home-maker. Georgie is the kind of career oriented women who struggles to juggle the time between the families. I loved that Georgie is shown with not traditional-motherly habits. There have been many books with perfect women but there are very rare books with imperfect women.

2) Time Jumps : This was a bit difficult to navigate style but in the end, it gave me glimpses of both past and present and immersed me in the story.

 

What I did not like

Slow Plot: This is not really a complaint because, in a way, this made the book more intense, but somehow, I wanted the book to move faster. I’ve no idea how she could have achieved that, but that is what I wanted in some sections of the book.

 

Final Thoughts

I know many people who don’t believe in fate, but the way this book portrays magic and fate made me feel happy. There is a kind of satisfaction in even imagining that despite of all the mistake we make, we’ll be able to reach a path designated for us.It might sound like a lazy way out, but sometimes, our 100% is not enough, and happiness still seem like a distant dream after our efforts. There is some peace in knowing that fate will take its course.

Of course like all stories of Rainbow Rowell, this book will absorb you in itself, but this is kind of hit or miss book. Either one will associate with it, or one will find it complete drivel. In my case, as you might have guessed, it was a hit. I enjoyed reading through ups and downs of Georgie’s life. Although I won’t call it the “best fiction of 2014”, it was an interesting read.

 

My Rating

Four Stars

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sumyth23
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 22:22:29

    Seems so nice to read a review by you. Again.
    Can you suggest me any book, where the writing is simple yet powerful? Any genre, any book on top of your head?

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Jan 03, 2015 @ 22:58:29

      🙂

      Thanks, Sumyth. Before suggesting the book,these are few of the suggestions:

      In romance, you can got for Nicholas Spark–his books are pretty simple.

      In children’s genre, go for Anne of Green Gables. I just love the book and message it conveys.

      In fantasy, I can’t think of anything simple, but Harry Potter starts quite simply in initial books.

      Sci-Fi, go for short stories instead of the novel. Here’s a link to a thought-provoking, but a very interesting story by Ray Bradbuy. (I hope the link works fine. I am not very good in html and stuff.)

      But the definition of simplicity varies from reader to reader. Tell me some books you’ve enjoyed and I might have better advice. 🙂

      Reply

      • sumyth23
        Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:09:22

        Nicholas Sparks, Harry Potter, Ray Bradbury, I’ve read. Something similar but not that commercial/famous?

      • parichitasingh
        Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:18:12

        Try “Name of the Wind” by Patrick Rothfuss. I absolutely adore the book although it is not simple.

        Again, for a different variety of romance try Laura Florand “Chocolate” series(although it is dubbed as chick lit).

        Or you can try Cinder. That was also a very interesting read.

      • sumyth23
        Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:19:53

        Now you’re talking!
        Thank you. 😀

      • parichitasingh
        Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:22:42

        Ha ha. 😀

        The book review that we are commenting on is also interesting. 😉

        Suggesting books blindly is a difficult job. It is so much easier if I know someone’s favorite.

      • sumyth23
        Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:29:33

        It sounded interesting and hence I asked. 🙂
        I know it could get difficult. If I have to pick books, I choose Michael Robotham, Robert Ludlum, Dan Brown etc. Unless, I get a suggestion. 😀

      • parichitasingh
        Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:34:30

        Mystery/thriller… I don’t read much in this genre. My genres are more warm. In fact I don’t like Dan Brown now (and his books are not simple.)

        And I haven’t read Michael Robotham. The books I have suggested are completely different.

        But why are you searching for simple books. Your stories don’t suggest that you are kind of a reader to like simple books. (Simple always remind me of CB.)

      • sumyth23
        Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:44:32

        I know your genre, 🙂
        I love warm, too. But my knowledge about it is limited to the limited suggestions I get. And hence we are doing what we are doing. 😛
        And m stories are starting to get simpler now. And I don’t mean CB simple. I mean simpler plots with complex characters. The kinds you review. 🙂

    • parichitasingh
      Jan 03, 2015 @ 22:59:59

      And in case the link didn’t work, I am writing it here again. Copy-paste it till I learn the html. 😛

      http://www.d.umn.edu/~csigler/PDF%20files/bradbury_veldt.pdf

      Reply

  2. shreya
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 09:37:09

    Very nice review yet another from your end. Really impressive one. Thank u for the share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

