Girl From Fatehpur– A Book Review

18137933

Add to GoodReads

Buy from Indiereads

The first thing that attracted me towards this book was its cover. By now, you all must have guessed that I love beautifully done covers. A story might be told in words, but the cover artists also tells a story (which might or might not coincide with the book), and this book has a kind of cover which makes me want to frame it and keep it in my living room. 🙂

I love you Rajan,” she had blurted out, hands clenched tightly at her sides.

“Sana, you are only a kid…you will soon forget all this. Besides, don’t you also love Shahrukh Khan?”

A decade has gone by and Sanjana, now a highflying professional in Mumbai, had thought she was over her childhood crush on Rajan. However, a chance encounter at a family wedding in her hometown Fatehpur re-kindles all her old feelings for him. But what about Krish, her persistent suitor who is also a senior colleague in the office? He just will not take no for an answer! His unexpected arrival in Fatehpur results in heated rivalry between the two men.

Will the ensuing tension and misunderstanding put an end to all her hopes of happiness? Her first love Rajan, or Krish, her handsome eligible colleague…who will win Sanjana’s impulsive heart?

The description above tells you the complete story. What it doesn’t tell you, you can guess. This is a predictable romance in which boy meets(re-meets) the girl and then they fall in love and live happily every after. The story is about what happens between these three points.

What I liked

I won’t say the book had stunning visual or language to keep me enraptured. But it’s a romance– the kind which makes you smile at times and frown at others, the kind which you have gone through(sans some drama and cliche scene), it’s the kind of romance which one sees in Bollywood movies. There are many cliches in the story, but then cliches are cliches for a reason.

 

What I didn’t like

1) Linear secondary characters: I think I have been spoiled by all the Korean dramas I watch. In those dramas, the second lead is such an amazing character that you want the heroine to go with the second lead instead of the hero. They’re so beautifully crafted characters that you want to go and give them a hug for not getting the heroine. But in this book, the second lead was meh! I didn’t like him a one bit and had kept on wondering how can even one think about such a person. Not only the second lead, the other secondary characters felt a bit flat to me too.

2) Language : I’m not against a simply written book, but against a book which tells like a narrative. This book is a better attempt at not telling the things, but still there are times when the voice turned too narrative for my taste. Furthermore, the book kept oscillating between universal and third person POV.

Overall View

It’s a very small read. I finished it in two and a half hours. It’s kind of book one can read and enjoy on a lazy afternoon when the heavy tomes and complicated plots can be lost in the drooping eyes.

Three Stars

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sumyth
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 23:53:32

    Reading your review made me feel like reading the book. Very precise. Nicely done. 🙂

    Reply

  2. abhishek147
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 12:25:02

    I don’t know if it is a co-incidence or what but Fatehpur is so close to my place and I am glad to see the name of such small place as the title of a novel. Thanks to author 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

