Angelic Beats– The Book Club Book Review

Angelic Beats 
By 
Sarita Singh
 
Buy @
Summary
There are many books which deal with adultery; there are many books which deal with the topic of older-heroine-younger-hero, but there are not many books which portray such a relationship in positive light.  That was the reason I picked up this book and finished it.
Angelic Beats is the story of a boy in his late teens who falls in love with a married woman. Both defy their ages; the woman for her looks and innocence and the boy for his confidence and clarity in life along with integrity. The journey of the boy for his passion also becomes journey of love for both that finally takes them to more meaningful destinations. It unfolds the changing perspective of a young boy and a married woman in various situations of life treading the path of love and success together.
What I liked:
1) Subject of the story: This story is more about how this romance inspired the characters to attain their dreams. I don’t believe in adultery as such, but then, I also know that love doesn’t announce itself before appearing in anyone’s life. I have read many books which preach that such a relationship is wrong, but I never found a book which shows how love changed the person. Sometimes, weeds are necessary before growing the crops. So, it fascinated me to read the different viewpoint in the book. The book didn’t sit on judgement, it neither says whether the relationship is right or wrong; it just portrays the effect it had on the characters.
What I disliked
1) Inadequate editing: The book can do with another round of editing to clean up all those missed up errors and those telling scenarios.
2) Underdeveloped side-characters-  This seems like my second problem with most of the book. Even with universal POV, the secondary characters are relegated no pages. They deserve their own stories, their own reactions too. I wished to know more about the secondary characters of the book.
Overall Opinion
It’s a very thin book–the kind which can be finished in one reading, but it left me with so many questions. I don’t think the subject is easily digestible for everyone as it actually doesn’t condone adultery, but for me, it was fun to unravel this other side of the story. The adultery and the age-gap(cougar-ism) are my second and third favorite topics to read on. So the book was fun for me.  Although it’s not mentioned anywhere, I also wondered if this is a sort of biography.
Three Stars

Meet the Author


The author, Sarita Singh, is a post-graduate in chemistry with a post-graduate diploma in mass communications. Born and brought up in Panipat, Haryana, she has been married to a doctor and is blessed with a son. The author is a state civil services (allied) officer, who has also taught in various institutions earlier. Reading and writing have always been a part of Sarita Singh who used to write her diary from a very young age. Like many others, she too loves gossiping and enjoying with friends and family as she loves spending time with them. The author believes in a few optimistic thoughts: “I am alright, I am happy where I am now, but I wish to be somewhere else. And I will try for it.”

You can stalk her @


                  

This Tour is Hosted by 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia Lal
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 05:03:13

    Sometimes weeds are necessary to realize what the crops should be!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

