Thoughts on Turning Thirty

I celebrated my 30th birthday on 28th Jan. It feels like I have crossed a milestone, and I have entered a new era. I always had this feeling that there is something waiting for me which I’ll get after 30. It has been two days since that and nothing has changed around me (for good), but still, I have this weird feeling that the something monumentally good is just around the corner now. Fingers crossed.

But well, this post is to reminisce about myself, more like a letter to my own self. (I’m egoist that way I love myself more than anyone.) I’m donning my wise-woman hat and entering the mind of what I’d like to tell the “Doubting Thomas” part of myself.

Dear Me,

It’s alright to be an engineer and an amateur writer. It’s perfectly okay if you don’t want to be a professional or published writer right now. The people who think that you’re wasting your time by not adopting your hobby, probably haven’t lived in the financial insecurity which comes with owning of one’s own business. They probably have not felt the joy of seeing a building, designed by you, being erected; they probably haven’t felt the joy of letting your pen loose on the paper. Those engineers who think you’re wasting your time with writing and those writers who think that engineering eats away the creativity have not felt the pleasure of being the two together. Don’t mind them. Don’t let them rob you of either of your joys because they cannot comprehend being the two together.

It’s okay to be romantic and practical.You might not be a dreamy-eyed anymore, but you still have right to weave your own dreams. It doesn’t matter that you don’t believe in love at first sight, it doesn’t matter that you try to see both pros and cons of everything including a relationship; it’s okay that you don’t want to save someone or comfort someone anymore– your romance has another dimension. You’re wiser than all those who think you’ve grown old.

It’s okay to be religious and young. Don’t let the idea of the people that religion is evil influence you. Let them call you old-fashioned, but remember, they were not the one who gave you the courage to cover the paths of their life. They might believe that being an atheist make them “of this world”, but then always know that age and religion are two different concept. Religion is more about faith than about age.

It’s okay to wear the salwaar-kameez and yet be modern. Don’t let the words of the people deter you that these dresses have gone out of vogue. You have never let them dictate what you should wear; don’t let them tell you that you’re quite “behind” the times. Western clothes in no way mean progressive thoughts. Wear what you feel comfortable in.

Don’t mind being a cook and a working woman. Just because someone else doesn’t have time or aptitude for cooking food, doesn’t mean that you should also give up. Yes, it needs a lot of time, but it also releases your stress; it also makes you happy. Let them comment on how “behenji-type” is this.

Last but not the least, you can be happy and alone. You’ve experienced this and you know this well. The people who says that happiness calls for a companion might be right too, but don’t think that you’re strange as you don’t have such need right now.

You’re all of the above and so much more. The world cannot imagine having all theseΒ  “and”s. They might try to cast you in a single mould, but you’re much more than one mould. You’re like water– you can be a well, a stream or a whole ocean; don’t let the labels limit you. More than that don’t let your joy be curbed by the comments of those with limited viewpoint.

Love forever and ever!

You might think that I’m crazy, but it’s good to remind myself why I defied every tradition. Sometimes the questions do get troublesome, sometimes this makes my life very difficult–but there is a reason why I am like this, and this little post is a reminder to myself. Hopefully coming years will add many more “and’ to this list.

(This post is a part of #UseYourAnd activity at BlogAdda in association with Gillette Venus)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Avinash Gupta
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 12:33:13

    Happy belated birthday Parichita. It’s always nice to read your views. Have a great year ahead. And remember, it’s Okay to be awesome.

    Reply

  2. Lynn E. O'Connacht
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 14:54:09

    Happy belated birthday! ❀

    That is a beautiful letter to yourself. ❀

    Reply

  3. parulthakur24
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 14:58:48

    Belated happy birthday! Loved reading this post. I am also 30+ (shy to say) and I agree with all that you have written. keep doing what you love and that’s the way to be happy.
    Read my post on the prompt when you get time πŸ™‚

    https://happinessandfood.wordpress.com/2015/01/29/shut-the-door-on-or-and-use-your-and/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

