Monday Musings: Series Books

Ha! Here I am again with a Monday rant. And this rant is about the series books. The series books are quite common phenomenon these days, especially if it is fantasy. I guess it does not make any sense to develop the whole world for one book only. Probably it is not possible to work the whole kingdom’s story in the book. I can name many, many series which I have read and I have enjoyed like the Harry Potter saga, Kingkiller Chronicles, GOT, LOTR– I’m just naming the common ones here to get my point across. And then I have read the fluffy romance series like Bridgeton series, Duchess series which do not need to stand on the stones laid by the previous books. And then there are series like the Psy-Changeling series which are in between the two(And which inspired today’s rant).

I rarely review series books on my blog, because in my opinion a series book rarely stands alone. It is complemented/supplemented by the books before and after it. It might come any time in the storyline, but the history developed in the beginning and the ending(definitely the ending) also matters. Sometimes, the middle drags while the beginning is brilliant (Hunger games, I am looking at you here!).Then how do we judge these books? On the basis of the series? Or on the basis of individual book?

The rant is inspired by Nalini Singh’s latest addition to Psy-Changeling series, Allegiance of Honor.

I love Psy-changeling series. I love Kaleb, the action, the romance and the world building. When this new book came up, I was excited. 15th book in the series, definitely should be awesome. And it said that it will take us back to the past characters as well. Cue the excitement music.

But then I read the book and realized the book is a bridge, a filler of sorts to take us to the next level in the series. I am disappointed– not by the series yet, but by the book, even after getting the necessity of such a bridge. A book should not have 478 pages which act as a bridge.

That’s the problem with the series. Either they start sounding similar (I phrased a word called series-ennui for this :-P). Or they end up sizzling down the whole beautiful world created in them, or they drag on so much. Or one is waiting ever and forever for the next book to be released (Patrick Rothfuss– I love your writing, but I’m tired of waiting).

It’s like you can’t hate them, nor you can love them.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pranchak
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 14:59:35

    The last series read that I did was a year ago, The divergent series. And I am eagerly waiting for the Son of ikshvaku’s next part. But to go beyond 3 books seems to be an arduos task and hence I have not yet started the likes of GOT and Dexter.

    Pranju Chakrapani

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Jun 27, 2016 @ 20:58:48

      Three is a good number, true, but then many of the three book series are also dragged on like Hunger Games series.

      I have almost a hate-hate relationship with Amish Tripathi’s book. I have never finished one without sleeping. šŸ˜›

      Oh, and reading GOT is not a task in itself, although waiting for the next book is definitely a difficult path.

      Reply

  2. pranchak
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 21:05:37

    Amish’s books deal with God like characters dwelling on the earth without godlike powers. It gets interesting šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Jun 27, 2016 @ 21:21:05

      Yeah, I know. But I don’t like his writing style. Too passive for my taste. I bought his first trilogy thinking I will enjoy it. I could barely finish the first book. The second and third books are yet to be opened.

      Reply

  3. pranchak
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 22:23:08

    I have the same hatred towards the likes of Durjoy Dutta šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

