Knitted Tales: A book club review

I have decided to pick up my review thing again, and the first book I am starting with is the book by a friend and co-conspirator in reading and writing: Rubina Ramesh. She is the brain and the brawn behind the Book Club. But we will talk about her later. First let’s move on to the book.

banner

Official Blurb

What forces an innocent girl to become a sex symbol? Her desires? Or cruel fate?

Is a lifetime enough—for avenging a betrayal? How do you hide secrets that never stopped haunting you?

Can vengeance and secrets of your past devastate your present? How can long-buried crimes of yours suddenly raise their head? Can sinning be saving?

Is your spouse your soulmate? What if they never understood your feelings? Can you still live with them?

Lastly, does life give only two options? Live or die? What if there is a third?

In her debut anthology, Rubina Ramesh tries to find answers to these questions that are often from the heart and yet makes the mind ponder over the solution. Or is it the other way round? Either way, Knitted Tales is a bouquet of emotions that is bound to touch both your head and your heart.

Grab your copy @


Amazon India | Amazon USA 

Amazon UK | Amazon Canada | Amazon Australia

Knitted tales is the fist book by Rubina Ramesh. That was the first reason I picked the book. Also, I have seen the stories being developed in the writing group of Wrimo India on Facebook, so I was quite interested in seeing the final product.

The book did not disappoint me. The book involves twelve different stories which include different themes and different tones. From the simple story of a wife trying to find her independence in a foreign land to the disturbing story of a mom trying to kill her daughter– the book has everything in it.

So here is my take on the book (an unbiased take):

What I liked

  1. Honesty in the stories: The story don’t hide the truth. Some of the stories touch on the events which are quite common in India. The honest take without trying to westernize the story just for the sake of it is one charm of the book.
  2. Variety: I already talked about the variety above, but this deserves the mention. The story collection is quite eclectic.There is something for every mood there.

What I did not Like

  1. Story voices:My one and the biggest complaint with the stories is mixing up of voices in the story. Some of the story voices are mixed with the voice of the author which makes it a bit weird to read it. It’s like the author’s voice and the voice of the character got mixed in at some point.

Overall Opinion

These stories are slice of life kind of stories. One won’t find meaning of life in the stories, but the stories will catch the interest and provide one a good reading time. Overall, it was a pleasant read.

Three Stars

A small giveaway from the book club

There is a small giveaway being hosted by the Book Club which offers four Rs 500 amazon gift vouchers. The giveaway does not ask for much. You can check it out in the link below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This Tour is Hosted by 

278c3-withcirclewhite2b252812529

Facebook | Website Blog Tours | Twitter | | Linkedin

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rubina Ramesh
    Jan 06, 2017 @ 04:23:24

    My Dear Parichita. Thank you. Love this review. Coming from you a 3 star makes my day 😀 And as per the voices, I will try to work on that, though I doubt if I will succeed. I do merge with my characters and sometimes they do fight with their individuality. I will try to make a conscious effort but have a feeling will fail miserably. But try I will. – but for now I will take that as a huge compliment. I was one with my stories. How can my voice not be? 😀 Once again a heartfelt thanks. ❤

    Reply

    • parichitasingh
      Jan 06, 2017 @ 08:10:13

      Merging with your character is not bad. But there are times when it felt that your voice was overpowering the character especially in some of your darker stories.

      But it is a well-done job. So you definitely should be celebrating.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

