The Way Forward…maybe?

For those who don’t know much about my real life, I am shifting from one city to another and this has made me worried. You see, it is a huge step for me as I will be leaving behind whole 30 years of my life for some time (or forever). I can’t say whether it will be for good or bad, whether it will be permanent or temporary, but it is happening. Sometimes I am at my wits’ end with the worry of how I am going to manage everything, while other times, I am pretty excited that I’ll get to explore the new places. Sometimes, I am pulling my hair at the exorbitant rent rates there, but the other times, I am sitting dreaming about all that city has to offer.

Some two and a half years ago, I faced a similar dilemma. I decided to move out of my parents’ house and live independently. Everybody warned me not to do it. I was told that I would be VERY lonely, that I would not know what to do with my time, that I will suffer the boycott from the society and what not. It would be wrong to say that I did not heed that advice. I listened to all of them and would have followed that advice of settling with my family only if I could see some future somewhere. But the sad fact remained that I wanted to have a tangible place of my own to secure my future, and living with family along with paying for that place was simply impossible financially.

So, I selected the option of moving out of my family house with a lot of trepidation. It has not been a very long time since I moved out of my parents house, but I have not repented my decision even for a moment for once. This move gave me an opportunity to grow as a person and expand my horizons. It gave me a chance to start this blog and watch all those movies and read all those books which were curtailed earlier because of limited space. More than anything it gave me peace of mind that if everything goes wrong in my life, I have my own home to come back to. Not many people understands this need of mine, but it is like a blanket of security of all my plans.

Now, as I shift to Mumbai, I am again getting the same vibes from everyone, like I am taking a disastrous step. But sometimes, the option we select is the right thing. That is what I am trying to believe right now.

And now you must be wondering why I am ranting about this big change:

1) I am trying to be positive but I am worried. I am excited as well, but the fear of my not being to adjust is mixed with.

2) Housing.com, the site I am using to search for a place in new city, has come up with a new campaign  #StartANewLife which has made me think about this experience. Here is the video which inspired this post:

3) Last but not the least, I am hoping that this change in cities will bring some good tidings and open up some excellent avenues in my life.